What do Authors do to Make the List?

Part of being an indie author is that marketing your book(s) is totally on your shoulders. Some days I make teasers. Some days I drop prices -(like to free). Some days I just throw a pillow over my head and scream into it.

My husband recently laid out the points to making the  NYT best selling list and had to repeat how it works…a few times. Two points he made still ring through my head. Did you know that there is a marketing company out there solely to get you on the NYT list? 100% satisfaction guaranteed. At what lengths does that company go to for that honored (or so I thought) label? I didn’t ask the name of the company but I know that it is mentioned on a popular website we all use even when people tell us not to. 🙂

The other point? Authors actually BUY their own books in volume to spike their sales in the short amount of time required to make the list. A book needs to be in the top 100 of multiple categories for one Sunday newspaper run and it is IN. Forever. FOREEEVVVEERR.

I personally can’t fathom doing either. Do the sheep only follow that sequence of words? Will my books be taken more seriously because of that stamp? I once thought so.  I think of people like John Grisham, Steven King, Jodi Picoult, (insert your favorite author here -since they are probably on this list).

BUT NOW WHAT?  Well, it seems so easy to manipulate the numbers (not limited to the 2 ways pointed out avenues above).

So now I wonder – –  who are the true best sellers now? Who has duped the system? Perhaps being a NYT best seller is not a goal I once wanted after all. What will I strive for now? Honesty? Hard work? The journey? Well…yes.  I have to go old school grass roots here. I wrote some books. People have left reviews. I am going to copy and paste them here…now. If I sell books because I did this, then yeah. If I don’t , then I tried. Either way, it turns out that being a NYT bestseller isn’t really that big of a deal since the system has been compromised.

I truly love the characters that are left in the end and their story…..as always, thanks for a great read Alisa! – Stacy

this author is one I will continue to read more by. – M.N

Thank you Alisa for sharing this incredible story. You are amazing and I can’t wait for more books from you! – Tracey

I just want to start by saying Alisa Mullen is one talented writer and storyteller. – HamlinGirl

Okay there is four. All on Unrequited, the third book in the series. You can find the reviews I have mentioned there.

Happy reading. Happy Life.

 

Leave a Reply

